What's new
Peugeot RCZ Forum

Register a free account today to become a member. It's free! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, connect with other members through your own private inbox and take part in competitions!

How To Update The RT6 System - Guide

DKZ5745

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2014
Messages
4,619
Reaction score
212
Points
63
Location
Yorkshire
My previous car didn’t have sat nav, so I bought a TomTom 820 music, with lifetime map updates. Since getting the Z I have just charged the TomTom occasionally to save the battery, but not done any updates.
I recently got an email from TomTom saying my nav unit had now come to the end of its useful life, so they were discontinuing my “lifetime” update :eek:
How can a company charge extra for a device as it has “lifetime updates “ and then stop giving updates for it a few years later?
Anyway, I haven’t tried the north west map update on the latest updates yet, but when I get chance, I will let you know how it went.
UK, France, & Italy all went ok, as did speed cams.
 

Plecodoras

Active Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
1,836
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Location
North Yorks
As I said Pete, it's not the N.E.E.Europe map that's faulty, it was just chance that was the last map to go on. I update all the maps, it is the last one which has filled my storage and now cannot fit all the new maps. It could easily have been Germany if I had left that until last.
My Tom Tom like yours had free lifetime upgrade, but the last time I went to update it a couple of years ago, it said the new maps were 2225mb and my system only had 1895mb so I could not update it. They then said they have split the region's so they will fit, but it meant missing some countries out, in essence I could have say France and Germany or Spain and Portugal but not all Europe as before. Even sillier I could have France Germany and Italy but not Holland and Austria. So pathetic really.

Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk
 

Mothra8

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Hi there, I have just joined the RCZ owners brethren and have firmware 2.70. Can I upgrade directly to 2.86 using the above instructions or do I have to upgrade incrementally using a CD at all? Thanks in advance for any reply.
 

Plecodoras

Active Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
1,836
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Location
North Yorks
GrahamL said:
Hi, Just come across your update guide and wanted to say thank you. I have just upgraded from 2.70 to 2.86, all went well and is now useable!!
This member seemed to do it, though some have had to do it in stages.

Luckily for us someone has gone to the effort of doing this guide and including all the links.

Read it through from start to finish and this will give you all the instruction you need, if you don't you might miss something.

Good Luck :thumbup:
 

suraj

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
tianorth said:
Latest map update (February 2019) :-

https://drive.google.com/open?id=11COvd ... foHsFjgG3I

Latest risk alerts/speedcams (February 2019) :-

https://drive.google.com/open?id=11Gqog ... dtPmtZsQHz

Deactivation files

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BwvOo ... HVLYmNWN1k


Some locations of file storage has changed, if anyone has problems downloading please let me know.
Hi, all here. I seem to have a completely different problem and can't find a solution anywhere. I did follow the instructions on upgrading to 2.86 on my 2012 508 GT (I admit I missed to check my previous version as I didn't know how to do that).
Everything went smooth for the upgrade to 2.86. After the restart it says "Check in progress" and then " Place navigation cd". I thought this would be fixed by the map upgrade to latest 2018-2019.
When I insert the USB to upgrade maps, instead of the 2018-2019, it pops up a list of different region maps of "2011-2012 1ed". While in some videos I have seen that it should be the new HERE maps for 2018/19 for different regions and we install them one after another.
I am stuck here, anything that I can do here would be of great help please.
 

DKZ5745

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2014
Messages
4,619
Reaction score
212
Points
63
Location
Yorkshire
It doesn’t sound like your system is looking in the correct place, if you have the correct files on your usb stick.

Is there a way on your system to tell it where to look for the updated files?
 

suraj

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Sorry, if I did catch your question correctly. I tried map downloads from different sources like from 'Tianorth' 2018-2019 and then from a Youtube video comment where it was 2019-2020 and its all the same. As soon as the USB is inserted, the radio screen show me a list of different region maps for "2011/2012 1ed" which I suppose would have been the one on the radio initially. No idea why an old list is poping up instead of the actual version of maps I am trying to install
 

Kerr

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2019
Messages
116
Reaction score
19
Points
18
I'm needing a bit help here.

The car is already on 2.86.

I can't get around the car keeping asking for an activation key. I out the second USB in and run through all the questions answering no. On reboot with the maps USB back in it still need a an activation key.

What am I doing wrong?
 

tianorth

Active Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
1,829
Reaction score
22
Points
38
Location
Fareham, Hampshire
Sorry, if I did catch your question correctly. I tried map downloads from different sources like from 'Tianorth' 2018-2019 and then from a Youtube video comment where it was 2019-2020 and its all the same. As soon as the USB is inserted, the radio screen show me a list of different region maps for "2011/2012 1ed" which I suppose would have been the one on the radio initially. No idea why an old list is poping up instead of the actual version of maps I am trying to install
In the RT6 on the right of the list is 2 buttons, cancel and update.
Click on update and it then reads the sub stick, chose which maps you want to update, it should revert back to this update list after the update of that map is complete.
Chose the next one to update.
 

Goatz

Active Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
135
Reaction score
45
Points
28
Location
London
Hi does anyone still have the firmware 2.86 available? The original link is dead now
thanks
 

tianorth

Active Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
1,829
Reaction score
22
Points
38
Location
Fareham, Hampshire
RT6 firmware 2.86


h t t p s: // drive.google.com/file/d/0BwvOoraCsml-dGJ2Z1pKTXBXNW8/view?usp=drivesdk link (remove spaces at front)
 
Last edited:

DKZ5745

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2014
Messages
4,619
Reaction score
212
Points
63
Location
Yorkshire
Hey Chris. It’s been a while, hope your keeping safe & well.

do you still get the latest map & camera updates ? My suppliers seem to have all disappeared 🤔
 

tianorth

Active Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
1,829
Reaction score
22
Points
38
Location
Fareham, Hampshire
Hey Chris. It’s been a while, hope your keeping safe & well.

do you still get the latest map & camera updates ? My suppliers seem to have all disappeared 🤔
Hi yes it's been a while, I'm mostly on the Facebook group, but occasionally look on on here.

I will look into getting new maps, speed cams etc.

I've noticed over the last few years that they seem to update by giving 1 of 2 versions.

As I use to go along M4 regularly it would take me off at j15, round the roundabout and back on M4 to j13.
The next upgrade would take me straight to j13.
The next upgrade to j15 to j13 and so on.

Obviously some new roads would be added as well.

Hope you are keeping well and safe!
 

tianorth

Active Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
1,829
Reaction score
22
Points
38
Location
Fareham, Hampshire
Hi Guys

I have downloaded the latest Maps and risk alerts, OK time for an update of the all the links

Deactivation of activation code.zip

RT6-2.86.rar

2020 Apr - RCZ RT6 Risk Alerts.zip

2020 Apr - RCZ RT6 Map updates.ZIP

I have not tested the 2020 files yet, please let me know if they are successful.

Links in the pdf file may not work anymore.
 

DKZ5745

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2014
Messages
4,619
Reaction score
212
Points
63
Location
Yorkshire
Nice one Chris. I’ll have a go soon, I’m having a few issues with the map updates for my Range Rover at the moment - I’ve just deleted all the maps on the Sat Nav by error - sort of.

The RCZ is overdue an update 👍
 

Gib007

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Location
Gibraltar, Europe
Hi all, I've read through this entire post and given the problems I was having with my RT6 unit's Bluetooth not working well, I thought I'd update it. I had version 2.75 back from 2013 when I bought my RCZ. I downloaded 2.86 from tianorth's post just above mine. I used the 16GB Philips USB stick that I normally use for music for my RCZ. I formatted it as FAT32, copied over the 2.86 firmware update files and deleted the System Volume Information folder prior to inserting the USB stick into the RCZ.

The upgrade process started smoothly but everywhere I had read that 15 to 18 minutes is the upgrade time. I spent 1 hour and 15 minutes staring at this and nothing. I tried a second time, and also nothing. This is what I see:

RT6.jpg

To try this the second time, I turned off the engine, disconnected the car battery for a minute and then reconnected it and turned the car back on. With the USB stick inserted, the process started from scratch.

The problem is I basically now have a bricked RT6 unit until the firmware update actually happens. I've given up twice. I don't know what to try besides buying several random USB sticks of 16GB or less to attempt to flash with. Any ideas?
 

Gib007

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Location
Gibraltar, Europe
I just wanted to update on my situation above because I have no doubt someone will have this issue and will be as desperate as I was. I managed to fix it!

The culprit is the RT6's MicroSD card. Inside the RT6 is an 8GB MicroSD card that stores the firmware. As with everything, these can become corrupt over time and fail. This causes a myriad of issues such as the RT6 crashing and rebooting, the RT6 getting stuck in a boot-loop, the RT6 saying "Checking in process" every single time you start it, the RT6 failing to upgrade firmware as mine did, etc.

The fix is simple - it needs a new MicroSD card. You first need to remove the RT6 unit from the car. I used the following YouTube video of a Peugeot 308 that has the same dashboard layout as my Peugeot RCZ (it has English captions you can enable):


Once you have the RT6 in your hands, you can follow this guide to change its MicroSD card:

How to Replace the Internal MicroSD Card - RT6 - French Car Forum

I didn't do the battery disconnection procedure. I simply left the car off with the battery connected the whole time. Anyway, the RT6 does not support a MicroSD card larger than 16GB. I found a Sandisk Class 10 (high-speed) 16GB MicroSD card for €5 and went with it. You do not need to format the MicroSD card first. Just take it out of the original box and put it into the RT6. The RT6 will format it once you install firmware on it.

Now, since the MicroSD card is blank, the RT6 will start with a blank screen and the disc drive will make a noise every 30 seconds or so, as if seeking a disc. You will need to use a USB stick to flash the firmware on to the RT6. You can download the RT6 2.86 firmware from the links posted above by tianorth.

The USB stick you use must also be 16GB or smaller. Format it on a computer with the FAT32 file system. Once blank, copy over the contents of the RT6 2.86 firmware update on to it. Then, open the Windows Command Prompt in administrator mode. Note which drive letter in Windows is your USB stick (say it's E drive), then type:

del "E:\System Volume Information"

This is a hidden folder Windows creates on newly-formatted USB sticks and its presence makes the RT6 firmware update fail. As soon as you use the above command to delete the folder, unplug the USB stick from your computer and do not plug it back in (as it will re-create this folder when you plug it back in).

Insert the prepared USB stick into your car's USB port and switch on the car's engine. The RT6 will pop up and say "CRC checking media" as it reads the USB stick you plugged in. It will flash the firmware automatically. After about 15 minutes (with a new, high-speed MicroSD card, this is what it takes), you'll be sorted!

An issue you may have after you do all this, is lack of audio output from any source (Radio, AUX, Bluetooth, etc). At least this was the case for me with the JBL addon for my RCZ. The button on your steering wheel to change audio source may also not work anymore. To fix this, you need to now use the Deactivation of Activation Code files posted by tianorth above. You need to repeat the process above to prepare a USB stick with this. Namely, formatting the USB stick (16GB or smaller) as FAT32, copying the files over and then deleting the System Volume Information folder that Windows generates, using the Windows Command Prompt.

Once your USB stick is prepared, insert it into the car while the car is on and the screen will begin asking you a series of Yes or No questions. Answer No to everything until you are asked about Audio Mode. Here, for me it was currently set to 3 and I was asked if I wanted to change it to 4. For the JBL addon on your RCZ, you need to set it to 2. Just select Yes multiple times until it sets to 2 (it will cycle through values). Once set to 2, select No to continue. Again, answer No to everything again until you are asked about VMF/VCCF. Here, make sure it is set to 0. Mine was set to 1 and it asked me if I wanted to change it to 0, which I answered Yes to. Once set to 0, keep answering No until you get to the question on Maps DRM. If this is currently set to 1, answer Yes to change it to 0 and then proceed. At the end it will ask if you want to reboot. Definitely answer Yes here, as the reboot is needed to apply the settings. When the screen turns off to reboot, remove the USB stick from the car.

When your screen returns, you'll have your JBL audio as well as the steering wheel's button for audio source working again. Having set Maps DRM to 0, now allows you to install the maps and map warnings as per instructions in this thread. You can leave this setting as it is as well (no need to change it back to 1).

For reference, I found what each of the Audio Mode values represents:

0 = Normal (internal amplifier)
1 = Hi-Fi (external analogue amplifier)
2 = Hi-Fi CAN (external digital amplifier)
3 = Arkamys (internal amplifier with Arkamys DSP audio)
4 = Arkamys + Hi-Fi (external analogue amplifier with Arkamys DSP audio)

I tried 3 (the default set when I fixed my RT6) and 1. Neither worked with my JBL addon. 2 is the correct setting it seems.

Hopefully the above helps someone.
 
Last edited:
Top