What's new
Peugeot RCZ Forum

Register a free account today to become a member. It's free! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, connect with other members through your own private inbox and take part in competitions!

Turbo issue

ADY HOWSON

New Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Location
Southampton
I have a RCZ GT.
Turbo keeps playing up and puts car into lag mode.
Had turbo sorted twice now.
Its happened again and management light on.
As soon as i go over 3500 rpm light comes on and it goes into lag mode.
Any ideas on wether i should get new turbo.
And if i do can i fit a 2.0 turbo to my 1.6.
 

RCZIain

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 26, 2017
Messages
869
Reaction score
15
Points
18
Location
Lincolnshire
Have you had it scanned for any fault codes?
Ideally with PSA dealer level equipment, not a £3.99 eBay special.

Also, by "had the turbo sorted" what do you mean?
 

ADY HOWSON

New Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Location
Southampton
Yes had it scanned and the garage sent turbo away for stripdown and refurb. Turns out it was a seal.
Its happened twice before and now its done it again.
 

frankvdb

Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2010
Messages
559
Reaction score
6
Points
18
Location
Eindhoven (The Netherlands)
How do you know it's the turbo each time?
It's not a common issue.
Do you have error codes?
The THP engine will throw up CEL and limp for many other types of issues too.
 
Last edited:

ADY HOWSON

New Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Location
Southampton
I dont have error codes. Garage didnt tell me them. They just said its problem with turbo.
And its doing exactly the same thing as the last 2 times so i assume its the same problem.
 

RCZIain

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 26, 2017
Messages
869
Reaction score
15
Points
18
Location
Lincolnshire
Constantly blowing turbo seals is something I've never had on any turbo car, and it's nothing I've heard an RCZ to do.

At least not multiple times.
 

Pedro

Active Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
144
Reaction score
36
Points
28
Location
Cheshire
Take out & check the Turbo Diverter valve charger located under the Turbo housing if the rubber seal has any tears inside this will affect the Turbo operation & cause that lovely Engine Fault repair needed light to shine away all day ..If its gone or suspect make sure the replacement is the Pierburg type ..
 

ADY HOWSON

New Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Location
Southampton
Take out & check the Turbo Diverter valve charger located under the Turbo housing if the rubber seal has any tears inside this will affect the Turbo operation & cause that lovely Engine Fault repair needed light to shine away all day ..If its gone or suspect make sure the replacement is the Pierburg type ..
 

ADY HOWSON

New Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Location
Southampton
Cheers thankyou. I will check it out as soon as i get chance. Lockdown has caused me loads of work at the moment so only got weekends free.
Thanks again. I will keep you posted. 👍
 

Frog face

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2019
Messages
22
Reaction score
10
Points
3
Location
Norwich
I have a RCZ GT.
Turbo keeps playing up and puts car into lag mode.
Had turbo sorted twice now.
Its happened again and management light on.
As soon as i go over 3500 rpm light comes on and it goes into lag mode.
Any ideas on wether i should get new turbo.
And if i do can i fit a 2.0 turbo to my 1.6.
I had similar with Ecu light coming on when my turbo was re built .... took a while to find the problem but believe it of not it was a leaking vacuum pipe ! One cable tie later an it was sorted
 
Top