What's new
Peugeot RCZ Forum

Register a free account today to become a member. It's free! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, connect with other members through your own private inbox and take part in competitions!

Parts replacement - fuel consumption increased... HELP!

Silverbullit

Reaction score
Howdy mates!
I really could need your expertize, my fuel consumption increased a lot!
Got me my dreamy RCZ, drove it home (driven it around 100 Swedish miles/1000 kilometers) and
Doublechecked fuel consumption, slightly above 0,53 liters/Swedish Mile (10 kilometers)

I am not a mechanic altho I replaced some stuff in need of replacing (Not a mechanic = Total Noob!)

Fuel consumption is now North of 0,8 liters/Swedish Mile (10 kilometers)
(And yes, these are both highway milage long drive counts of the exact same type as in NOT short runs)

I really thought new air filters, spark plugs, more fluid oils 0w30 and so forth would further better/lower fuel consumption - why did it rampage up?!?

What could have happened?

It might be of help to know what I replaced/fiddled with...
I did change the worn out tires, it is colder the second run since Winter is here but still... should it not take less fuel when I fix stuff?
Dunno if it matters but I did search a lot of tests for the test winning parts/fluids and consulted two independent (God Level) mechanics that signed off on my OCD level pickyness to get best quality replacement stuff. (I even went further trying to fix and treat the parts against rust and the powers may be messing with lifespans)
English is far from great and mebbe even worse than my non existent mechanical skills

Stuff replaced/fixed;
Strengthened Engine Chain
High pressure pump
(The 0,53 l/mile still consistent after the above two was replaced)
Replaced Coolant
Replaced Break Fluid Dot4
Air filter (Had N E V E R been changed, was just a thick crust and seemed 100% efficient air seal)