What's new
Peugeot RCZ Forum

Register a free account today to become a member. It's free! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, connect with other members through your own private inbox and take part in competitions!

More Android Functionality Questions…

chrismac

Active Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
227
Reaction score
85
Points
28
Location
Cardiff
When you say "I could get into the menu", do you mean the orange on black menu (on top of the dash) ?
 

Ballcock

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2024
Messages
36
Reaction score
7
Points
8
Location
London
Yeah, but the unit wouldn’t power. It’s going back. I just fitted it without the connects2 loom and the dash was flipping between mph and kph!!!

I’ll stick with the original, a phone holder and Bluetooth! 😀
 

chrismac

Active Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
227
Reaction score
85
Points
28
Location
Cardiff
I'm not sure I understand the problem correctly.

The connects 2 devices allow the head unit to be controlled by the stork, other connects 2 boxes allow the reversing sensors to work etc. The ISO connector allows the Peugeot built in multi connector behind the dashboard to fit to a different head unit, so its specific to Peugeot and the head unit (which is usually a standard fitting - but not always).

As far as I'm aware no aftermarket head unit functions will show up on the orange/black display on top of the dash - Connects2 stated that on the tech pages of their website.

The "flipping" between mph and kph would seem to indicate a problem with the stork control, as that is how you would change the standard display configuration.

Not sure that any of this helps, but as 2Retro says, many of us have changed the head unit and managed to get all working.
 

Ballcock

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2024
Messages
36
Reaction score
7
Points
8
Location
London
Hi Chris, here were the problems…

When using the connects 2 cable in line, unit didn’t power. But it did power with the loom that came with the unit. I did have control of the Peugeot menu from the stalk though.

I noticed that the ISO pin outs on the C2 unit were different. So I changed them to match. Still no joy and the unit didn’t power.

I’ve just now tested the unit without the C2 lead again and I noticed that the dashboard was flicking between miles and kilometres. It had also reset the service warning and the dash is now telling me I’m due for a service. On top of that, the facia for the heater didn’t sit properly.

it was a load of rubbish and is about to be returned.

Cheers, Rob.
 

Ballcock

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2024
Messages
36
Reaction score
7
Points
8
Location
London
I only wanted it for Car Play but it turned into such a massive pain in the arse I’ll stick with my current set up of a phone holder and Bluetooth, I’ll possibly score a USB adapter so I can charge the phone from somewhere near the dash and sacrifice the one in the arm rest.

Thanks for all your help though.
 

diogosaka

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2023
Messages
15
Reaction score
5
Points
3
Location
Portugal
I have an Android headunit, as long as you have the canbus box installed with it you can access ALL functions in the multifunctional display! I use the Raise canbus box...
 

Ballcock

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2024
Messages
36
Reaction score
7
Points
8
Location
London
I had volume control but couldn’t get into the Peugeot menu. And not being able to set tte clock would boil my puss! 😀 I know it’s daft but…..
 

RZC2010

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2023
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Location
newport
when i fitted the android unit to my rcz. i also had the issue with the milage flashing between kms and miles. it turned out to be a faulty can busbox.

i replaced my canbus box updated the settings in the android unit, then you need to swipe down twice from the top of the main screen and do a resart from there.

all is working correctly now.
 

Ballcock

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2024
Messages
36
Reaction score
7
Points
8
Location
London
Thank you 2010 but it’s too late. They’re dead to me. I dropped £250 on the unit and various cables for a badly fitting thing that didn’t work properly and reduced functionality.

I’m going to stick with the stock unit. I’ll look at improving the sound quality some how, maybe better speakers and a sneaky amp.

we have to remember that these cars are ‘soon to be classics’ and originality counts in that situation.
 
Top