What's new
Peugeot RCZ Forum

Register a free account today to become a member. It's free! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, connect with other members through your own private inbox and take part in competitions!

Engine rattle on RCZ200THP.

A

Anonymous

Hi guys,
mentioned this a few weeks back but not on technical discussions,so may have been missed.
My 200THP from new has had a horrid ticky come tappety noise from cold,lasts for a few minutes on idle,then disappears,i have taken it back to my dealer for a warranty check,they confirmed the noise but stated it was common on both 156/200.
what is your opinion on this :eusa-think: :eusa-think:not convinced myself but im no expert,i will add the engine uses no oil and after 7.5k i have just topped up.
I did mention to the service manager all Peugeot need to do is fit a suitable cat-back exhaust to mask the annoying rattle but sadly fell on deaf years :police:
Any feedback would be fab,could then pass it onto my dealer.

A

Anonymous

It's so annoying lasts no more than a few mins,i listened to the demo 156 it had and no rattle in the least.

A

Anonymous

I have the 156 and to be perfectly honest i dont think its the quietest engine in the world, my son, who's bedroom is above the drive has commented a few times on how tappety it sounds when i start it up in the mornings.

When i've listened to it i feel that the noise is lower down than the tappets, but as you say it's not there for long ?

I've never had a Peugeot and being a new car to me i was wandering if this is how the RCZ sounds ? I had a VW Scirroco some years ago and that was a tappety car, with engine cold or hot !

FGRob

Reaction score
Yes I get it first thing, I think you will find it's a temperature related rattle, the colder it is the longer it takes for it to go off. I hear it when I leave the house as I go down a narrow high walled lane, by the time I'm at the bottom it's gone.