What's new
Peugeot RCZ Forum

Register a free account today to become a member. It's free! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, connect with other members through your own private inbox and take part in competitions!

Oil Colour

A

Anonymous

A quick question.
Does the engine oil on a diesel car tend to darken quicker after an oil change as opposed to a petrol engine ?
Just had a service on my diesel car (not RCZ ) and the engine oil has completely lost that "honey colour" look and is almost black after just a few days. :eusa-think:

A

Anonymous

I'd call that normal, don't forget there's going to be all the old oil residue left lurking deep within the bowels. As long as its not gritty when rubbed between finger and thumb or have any metalic/metal sparkle then all will be fine.

A

Anonymous

Thanks Chuzz,
the oil feels smooth, but just looks old :eusa-think:
I've never used this particular garage before and was a bit concerned with the oil colour when I checked the oil level.
Also the oil filter is concealed on the diesel Polo so you cannot tell if it has actually been changed. :?

:beer:

A

Anonymous

jactac said:
Does the engine oil on a diesel car tend to darken quicker after an oil change as opposed to a petrol engine ?

When I had the Oil changed at the 12 month point last year, I too was very surprised to see it was quite black when I checked after a week (this is my first Diesel).

Just had the oil changed today (Wednesday 12 September 2012), so will check it tomorrow to see what colour it is and then see what it's like in a week again.

Good news is that after 2 years ownership, I haven't needed to top-up the "oil-burner" at all :thumbup:

A

Anonymous

Cheers Gorwell.
Will be interested to see if it has darkened.
To be honest I did have doubts that the garage had changed the oil. :eusa-think:

A

Anonymous

Checked Oil this morning. The golden hue has already started to turn black.