What's new
Peugeot RCZ Forum

Register a free account today to become a member. It's free! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, connect with other members through your own private inbox and take part in competitions!

LOW OIL PRESSURE AFTER TENSIONER FAILURE

robrac

Reaction score
RCZ 1.6 THP 2010 INTERMITTENT FAULT LOW OIL PRESSURE WARNING.

As a newcomer to the forum I thought I would introduce myself and let you know about something I discovered about the 1.6 THP motor.
I am a retired engineer and build F1 and F2 Sidecars. Over the years I have built hundreds of engines and problem solved for several motor dealers and teams. I have multi diagnostics including pp2000 and am based at Oswestry Shropshire.

I have been working on a Peugeot RCZ 1.6THP that came in with a variety of issues.
Codes relating to Low oil pressure …Engine Repair Needed ...STOP
This was an intermittent code, that appeared after harsh driving or cold starts!!.
A misfire was present intermittently and there were no horrendous clangs and bangs.
Codes showed all 4 cylinders inconsistent. ?? VVT out of range :crazy: because of low pressure could fit??

Striped the motor cover to see the top chain tensioner had failed. Part of the rail including one part of the inner aluminium arm was missing.
Removed the sump and deep inside the pump inlet shroud were several flat pieces of plastic. In the oil pan was the chewed up alloy arm. The oil drive chain was slack but not excessively slack. Bear in mind this is a smoking gun as the motor had thrown a low oil pressure warning.
NOW THIS IS THE INTERESTING BIT.
I connected an oil pressure gauge, connected a hydraulic rig to it and noted that the pressure was steady. I left it to settle.
I pinched the chain together to check the actual run out when I saw the pressure drop on the gauge. Now to me that was impossible so I investigated further.