What's new
Peugeot RCZ Forum

Register a free account today to become a member. It's free! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, connect with other members through your own private inbox and take part in competitions!

RCZ VVT Oil Soleniod 0016 code

Dedra1

Reaction score
Hi thanks for reply & info. Would have thought it was normal for there to be a slight rattle from a timing on cold start as oil needs to circulate round engine.
However I have NO history for car....I have now changed the oil/filter a 2nd time & MPG has gone up 35.9 on long motorway type trip.
As I have bought a VVT oil solenoid anyway (£32), if I can the old b****r out(!) I will change it....I will take rocker off & have a look to see if chain is slack.
Also will change top timing guide as well....but it is looking look new timing chain kit
Thanks again for help.
All the best :)

Dedra1

Reaction score
I'm no expert but if you have a rattle on start up get the timing chain replaced. Whilst doing that they will change the Tensioner and ask them to change the VVT solenoid as well. I doubt the rattle will go after changing the VVT. Dont bother trying to clean the VVT if you do get it out. The seal will be worn and the gunge is inside the unit.
A quick fix is change the Tensioner see if that improves things it could even be loose if you have oil around it.
If you try to tighten the tensioner bolt apparantly it can make things worse by damaging the washer ring. Change that first they are £30 and require a 27mm socket a half inch drive socket and brute force! You can buy a flywheel locking tool or kit to hold eveything in place before you do it. Or you can buy the cam lock kit to hold the cams in place. The locking kit is fitted on the cams after you take the rocker cover off.

Dedra1

Reaction score
Thanks for info. Update on P0016 code. I have changed oil/filter twice, & have now fully charged battery with good quality digital charger.