What's new
Peugeot RCZ Forum

Register a free account today to become a member. It's free! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, connect with other members through your own private inbox and take part in competitions!

P15A6 and P0948 codes

Valex

Active Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
152
Reaction score
103
Points
43
Location
The Netherlands
Update ...
I drove back home, and all the gauge values on the app were the same as this morning.
In acceleration, the oil pressure gauge goes over the 100 PSI :rolleyes: (101-102). That is the reason I changed the max value of the gauge to 200 PSI.
Again, the check engine light went off after 2-3 seconds after I turned on the engine and the "Engine Fault: repair needed" never came out.
But arrived at home the fan was on and it stayed on until I disconnected the battery :(.
This is the export file from the Car scanner app :eek: In red the description I found on internet
Car Scanner ELM OBD2
DTC report
Selected brand: Peugeot

============1==============
P15A6
Raw code: 15A6
ECU: Engine control unit#3
Status: Test is inhibited by other DTC, Validated and stored in non volatile memory
P15A6 Engine Oil Pressure Too High Before Start
============2==============
P0948
Raw code: 0948
ECU: Engine control unit#3
Status: Test is inhibited by other DTC, Validated, and stored in non volatile memory
OBDII: Hydraulic pump relay - circuit high
P0948 Hydraulic Pump Relay Circuit High
============3==============
P15A8
Raw code: 15A8
ECU: Engine control unit#3
Status: Pending fault present, Test conditions are met, Validated and stored in non volatile memory
P15A8 Lubrication system : Pressure not consistent with the atmospheric pressure
============4==============
P0522
Raw code: 0522
ECU: Engine control unit#3
Status: Pending fault present during this driving cycle, Test conditions are met, Validated and stored in non volatile memory
OBDII: Engine oil pressure sensor/switch - low voltage
P0522 Engine Oil Pressure Sensor/Switch Low Voltage
============5==============
P15A7
Raw code: 15A7
ECU: Engine control unit#3
Status: Pending fault present, Pending fault present during this driving cycle, Test conditions are met, Validated and stored in non volatile memory
P15A7 Engine Oil Pressure Too Low Before Start
============6==============
P15A6
Raw code: 15A6
ECU: Engine control unit#4
Status: Test is inhibited by other DTC, Validated and stored in non volatile memory
P15A6 Engine Oil Pressure Too High Before Start
============7==============
P0948
Raw code: 0948
ECU: Engine control unit#4
Status: Test is inhibited by other DTC, Validated and stored in non volatile memory
OBDII: Hydraulic pump relay - circuit high
P0948 Hydraulic Pump Relay Circuit High
============8==============
P15A8
Raw code: 15A8
ECU: Engine control unit#4
Status: Pending fault present, Test conditions are met, Validated and stored in non volatile memory
P15A8 Pressure not consistent with the atmospheric pressure
============9==============
P0522
Raw code: 0522
ECU: Engine control unit#4
Status: Pending fault present during this driving cycle, Test conditions are met, Validated and stored in non volatile memory
OBDII: Engine oil pressure sensor/switch - low voltage
P0522 Oil pressure sensor signal : Short circuit to earth
============10==============
P15A7
Raw code: 15A7
ECU: Engine control unit#4
Status: Pending fault present, Pending fault present during this driving cycle, Test conditions are met, Validated and stored in non volatile memory
P15A7 Oil pressure too high in relation to the atmospheric pressure
 
Last edited:

Plasma

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
1,829
Reaction score
609
Points
113
Location
Cheshire
Can be that the high oil pressure is caused by the 5W-40 oil. As I wrote above, was a test for the smoke after idling in the traffic.
Next change, ready for the winter, I'm going back to the 5W-30 Total Ineo ECS :).
I will post the Car scanner App screens just to see if the values are different.
These engines don't like the wrong viscosity oils as your pointing out & thicker oil will cause cake & sludge issues in the oilways I always use 5w-30 Total Ineo low saps 3 with a Bosch filter in my 200 & never had any issues + it runs smooth as a Rolls-Royce in my estimation! 😄
 
Last edited:

Valex

Active Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
152
Reaction score
103
Points
43
Location
The Netherlands
My RCZ is my daily drive and I do 80 kilometers a day (home-work-home) 5 times a week. It is now at 139.000 Km.
I'm a little bit confused about what to do for the next step. Just change the oil+filter (I use the Purflux that is identical to the original Peugeot) or replace the solenoid valve on the oil pump :rolleyes:.
 

Valex

Active Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
152
Reaction score
103
Points
43
Location
The Netherlands
Update ...
Just back from a 10km ride, no strange lights on the dashboard and no cooling fan on o_O. I didn't reset the errors today so everything is exactly the same as when I came home from my work. Only difference is that now it is raining and this afternoon not :rolleyes:.
 

Valex

Active Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
152
Reaction score
103
Points
43
Location
The Netherlands
Update ...
I went to the supermarket, Oil pump valve duty graphic was dead to zero.
I started the car to come back home and it started to move o_O , this is the video where in the parking place I try some accelerations in neutral:

Arrived at home, turned off the engine, restarted again and the graphic was flat to zero again o_O
 

Valex

Active Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
152
Reaction score
103
Points
43
Location
The Netherlands
Update ...

Saturday I replaced oil and oil filter.
Used the car a little around the town and this morning to drive at work.
Gauges on the App are exactly the same as before and oil pressure, at 80-100 km/h (~ 2000 RPM) is still around 100 PSI. At idle, with motor warm, pressure is ~40-50 PSI.
I reset all the errors and now I have only P15A7
P15A7: Engine Oil Pressure Too Low Before Start :rolleyes:

The Oil pump valve duty graph on the app is strange, one time , after the motor start, it stays flat at zero and another time it is pulsing from 0 to 99% 🤨
Screenshot_20220917-104058.jpg
 
Last edited:

Plasma

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
1,829
Reaction score
609
Points
113
Location
Cheshire
You don't have much luck do you? o_O The P15A7could be down to an electrical connection or wiring loom issue this code can also appear if the sensor is not the same as the makers specification?
Maybe the App is dodgy?
 

Attachments

  • P15A7.PNG
    P15A7.PNG
    155.8 KB · Views: 2

Valex

Active Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
152
Reaction score
103
Points
43
Location
The Netherlands
Last week, when I replaced the oil pressure switch under the turbo, I spayed the connector with some electronic contact cleaner. Also It didn't look damaged.

Also, about the App Oil pump valve duty graph, no idea if the signal comes from the solenoid valve on the oil pump or from the pressure switch below the turbo.

It is strange that it is working so randomly. When I turn on the motor and it decides to work, it is working/pulsing for all the ride, till I turn the engine off.
If it is not working at the engine starting it stays to zero for all the ride. Just turn off and turn on again and maybe it starts working o_O. As you say, could be that is just the app.

Tomorrow I should go to a small Peugeot specialist (this is what is write in the website :rolleyes:) garage and see what he has to tell me.
I was also thinking to install an external oil pressure gauge, just to see if the oil pressure is matching with the app or not.
 

Valex

Active Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
152
Reaction score
103
Points
43
Location
The Netherlands
Update ...
Yesterday I went at work and back home, 80 km (90% highway) and no strange lights or messages.
Oil pressure on the app is still high.
I bought this adaptor from Aliexpress so I can connect the original pressure switch and an external pressure gauge. Cost less than half hour in a garage 😁! Screenshot 2022-09-21 084256.png
 

Valex

Active Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
152
Reaction score
103
Points
43
Location
The Netherlands
I'm keeping myself busy 😁.
Yesterday I found this video in Portuguese but I can understand what he is speaking about :).

And this is my testing with the original oil pressure sensor. Now I know that it is not just a pressure switch (on/off) but it is a pressure sensor that can send different tensions (Volt) for different pressure values.
This is my replication of the test 😅:
Here just checking the tension of the USB power supplier. Should be 5V but it gives 5.30V.
20220922_105745.jpg

At 0 Bar, the tester should read 0.5V, in my case 0.8 Volt.
And here with 4 BAR, the tester should read 2 Volts but in my case it is reading 2.44 Volts.
IMG-20220922-WA0000.jpeg


Now I need a power supply that give exactly 5.0 Volts.
 

Valex

Active Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
152
Reaction score
103
Points
43
Location
The Netherlands
I just removed from the engine and I tested the aftermarket pressure sensor I bought last week.
At 0 BAR it gives 0.7 Volt (VS 0.8 of the original one)
At 4 BAR it gives 2.24 Volts (VS 2.44V of the original one)

For now I will use the aftermarket one so the ECU read less pressure 😅.
I'm curious to see what the mechanical pressure gauge will indicate 🤔, I'm am already thinking to keep it on the motor with a nice race braided hose and AN fittings 😁.
 

Plasma

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
1,829
Reaction score
609
Points
113
Location
Cheshire
I will only fit to replace any engine components like a cam or crank sensor the original spec I have tried aftermarket cheap ones & they all end up in the bin 😆
 
Top