What's new
Peugeot RCZ Forum

Register a free account today to become a member. It's free! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, connect with other members through your own private inbox and take part in competitions!

Newbie question regarding sub install

bnblk17

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
6
Points
3
Location
Essex
Hi people, just took ownership of a 2010 RCZ GT 200. Really enjoying her but the stereo is a bit dull.

New Sony double din android auto being installed Tuesday, Ordered the RCZ specific Focal fronts (ISPSA 165), and have acquired a Focal Ibus 20 underseat sub to extend the lows.

My question relates to the sub. I've never dabbled in any wiring except to hardwire my dashcam. The sub wiring kits come with wiring to run to the battery including a fuse holder. Can I just do as I do with the dashcam and use one of those "piggyback" type things instead of trying to run direct to the battery?

If I can, any suggestions as to what fuse to use?

Many thanks for any help. Ben
 

chrismac

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
44
Reaction score
9
Points
8
Be careful about "piggy-backing" . I would image your Sub will draw a lot of power - and at 12V that means a high current (200W at 12V is over 15 amps). That sort of current will cause a thin wire to heat up.
Try and wire it back to the battery, or better still - get the installer to put a wire in place on Tuesday, with the necessary fuse.

Btw. divide the wattage of your active sub by 12 - that will give you the max current that will be drawn by the sub. Always add a little bit extra to the fuse but not too much. So a 100 watt sub needs about 100/12 = 10amp fuse, 200 watts needs at 20 amp fuse, 500 watts needs a 45 amp fuse etc.
 

bnblk17

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
6
Points
3
Location
Essex
Apologies for the delay in response and thank you for the details.

The amp is 150w MAX ( nominal 75w). I have got a mini blade "piggyback" cable plus some 15 and 20amp fuses. I intend to run off the F9 fuse on the board ( 12v lighter socket which I don't use) which is 30a fused.

Will this work or am I looking for trouble?

Cheers for any guidance, Ben
 

bnblk17

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
6
Points
3
Location
Essex
PS - the power cable is 8 gauge - make any difference? Electrics aren't my thing...
 

Zapp

Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
42
Reaction score
24
Points
8
Location
Ramsey
Hiya you really need to run direct from the battery there is a hole in the bulkhead that comes out behind the fuse box behind the glovebox ...problem is A. It’s not a big hole so you’ll need to make it lager and use a grommet and B. You gotta take the near side wiper motor out which means taking the wiper arm off and the trim panel that runs under the windscreen ( plastic one ) once you’re done that attach a 4 gauge wire run it through the bulk head to a decent fuse box and add as many Amps as you want
 

Attachments

bnblk17

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
6
Points
3
Location
Essex
Zapp - thanks for that. The cars in for a Sony android auto head unit install tomorrow so Im gonna attempt a "sweetener" for the installer to wire up the power, rcas and remote cables too. I THINK I can do the easiest bits but had a go at looking for suitable cable runs to the boot, got a major munk on and went to the pub instead. The ufcking back seats did my nut right in
 

Zapp

Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
42
Reaction score
24
Points
8
Location
Ramsey
My rear lower seat is still loose at mo as ran a rear dash cam in over the weekend so I’ll get a picture of where the clips are
If I remember it’s a real bitch to get out but once you’ve done it seems easy
One thing to remember when you add amps you’ll lose the front and rear sensor beeps ( if you have them ) incartec.co.uk do a micro speaker that connects to the can bus
I’ve only amped the fronts so tears are faded foward on the head unit ( using rear speaker outputs from radio for just the reverse beeps )
 

Zapp

Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
42
Reaction score
24
Points
8
Location
Ramsey
My rear lower seat is still loose at mo as ran a rear dash cam in over the weekend so I’ll get a picture of where the clips are
If I remember it’s a real bitch to get out but once you’ve done it seems easy

One thing to remember when you add amps you’ll lose the front and rear sensor beeps ( if you have them ) incartec.co.uk do a micro speaker that connects to the can bus
I’ve only amped the fronts so tears are faded foward on the head unit ( using rear speaker outputs from radio for just the reverse beeps )
 

bnblk17

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
6
Points
3
Location
Essex
Managed to get all the sub wires routed including power cable to battery. Another daft question, what did you guys use to attach the power cable to the positive terminal on the battery?
 

bnblk17

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
6
Points
3
Location
Essex
All sorted. Just need to spend time sorting out the sound settings now. Thanks for all the help people.
 
Top