What's new
Peugeot RCZ Forum

Register a free account today to become a member. It's free! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, connect with other members through your own private inbox and take part in competitions!

Crankshaft sensor location

SimonGGG

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2018
Messages
3
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Can anyone tell me or send me a picture or diagram of where the crankshaft sensor is please. Had engine fault code of P0016 and i have changed the camshaft sensor but still got the same fault code. Any help would be greatly appreciated
 

SimonGGG

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2018
Messages
3
Reaction score
2
Points
3
I found it. It's underneath the car in the middle roughly just in front of where the gear stick would be. It's covered up by a dull yellow plastic cover. Not easy to get to but can be done by someone who is handy with cars
 

tm2204

Active Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
126
Reaction score
49
Points
28
Location
Ireland
Hi,

Did changing the cam and/or crank sensors sort this for you or did you end up having to change the timing chain and/or tensioner?
 

Pedro

Active Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
690
Reaction score
225
Points
43
Location
Cheshire
Had any other symptoms like Bank1 sensor A or lumpy idling or bad acceleration? Engine Timing out of correlation?
 

tm2204

Active Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
126
Reaction score
49
Points
28
Location
Ireland
Had any other symptoms like Bank1 sensor A or lumpy idling or bad acceleration? Engine Timing out of correlation?
Nope.. no chain noise on cold startup, idle is normal and car running fine. Error Code (P0016) clears after a while but repeatedly comes back again.

That's why I'm suspicious of it not being the chain/tensioner and possibly crank and/or cam sensors. I had this before on my old 406 Coupe.
 

Pedro

Active Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
690
Reaction score
225
Points
43
Location
Cheshire
Yep could be right but if its a static code after fitting a new sensor think about the timing chain tensioner as these are a known failure on the Princes before you decide to change the chain its a lot cheaper option
 

tm2204

Active Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
126
Reaction score
49
Points
28
Location
Ireland
Yep could be right but if its a static code after fitting a new sensor think about the timing chain tensioner as these are a known failure on the Princes before you decide to change the chain its a lot cheaper option
Yes, was thinking of replacing the tensioner as a matter of preventative maintenance anyways 👍🏼 Doesn't sound or feel like the chain so hopefully replacing the cam & crank sensors and the tensioner might sort this EML & P00016 code 👍🏼
 

Pedro

Active Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
690
Reaction score
225
Points
43
Location
Cheshire
My tensioner was goosed at 33.565 so they are a problem to watch out for some owners think its the chains but these tensioners are a piston which press which over time becomes stiff as a corpse & don't put any tension on the chain hence you get a rattle but not a timing issue
 

tm2204

Active Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
126
Reaction score
49
Points
28
Location
Ireland
My tensioner was goosed at 33.565 so they are a problem to watch out for some owners think its the chains but these tensioners are a piston which press which over time becomes stiff as a corpse & don't put any tension on the chain hence you get a rattle but not a timing issue
My issue is that my chain is quiet, no noise at all on cold startup. Think I'll proceed by replacing the cam & crank sensors and go from there 👍🏼

Having said that can you just pop out the tensioner and check to see if it's all stiffened up?
 

Woodso

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2018
Messages
78
Reaction score
10
Points
8
Is replacing the tensioner a "pop out" exercise? I thought that it was at the back of the engine and is difficult to access and involves removing a few parts to get at it.
 

Pedro

Active Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
690
Reaction score
225
Points
43
Location
Cheshire
I measured mine against the length of the new one & it was almost seized so a massive difference If there is no Rattle then leave it in & see how the sensor issue turns out you have 68 mm of chain wear before they both need to be replaced by that time the cold start rattle will be the best indicator of failure on the horizon
 

Pedro

Active Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
690
Reaction score
225
Points
43
Location
Cheshire
Is replacing the tensioner a "pop out" exercise? I thought that it was at the back of the engine and is difficult to access and involves removing a few parts to get at it.
See BlackcapBobs post I got mine out & you need a locking pin for the flywheel (A mini has the same type) & some patience but its doable if you have the knack of mechanics etc The Tensioner is in the back of the engine so be prepared to swear a few expletives as room is on a budget where your hands are concerned
 

tm2204

Active Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
126
Reaction score
49
Points
28
Location
Ireland
I measured mine against the length of the new one & it was almost seized so a massive difference If there is no Rattle then leave it in & see how the sensor issue turns out you have 68 mm of chain wear before they both need to be replaced by that time the cold start rattle will be the best indicator of failure on the horizon
Thanks.. That's my plan of action 👍🏼
 

tm2204

Active Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
126
Reaction score
49
Points
28
Location
Ireland
See BlackcapBobs post I got mine out & you need a locking pin for the flywheel (A mini has the same type) & some patience but its doable if you have the knack of mechanics etc The Tensioner is in the back of the engine so be prepared to swear a few expletives as room is on a budget where your hands are concerned
Do you need to lock the flywheel/crank if your not adjusting the timing (chain) and just removing the tensioner?
 

Jumper

Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
81
Reaction score
42
Points
18
Do you need to lock the flywheel/crank if your not adjusting the timing (chain) and just removing the tensioner?
I did Tom via the flywheel. It's the top hole in the housing. However, after changing the tensioner I went to take the fly wheel tool out of the housing and it had fell on the floor during the process 😆 There is only one cam sensor on the 156. It's the VVT solenoid at the back of the engine right next to the tensioner.
I wont lie it's a devil of a job to change age the VVT. BTW dont try to adjust the tensioner it will mash the washer just pop a new tensioner in it comes with new washer. If you are going to do either message me and I'll help you along.
 

Jumper

Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
81
Reaction score
42
Points
18
New Tensioner next to my old one.
You can see in the other picture the hole the Tensioner goes in. The round metal casing with the plug in is the VVT variable valve timing solenoid that works off the rear Camshaft.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200503_174832453.jpg
    IMG_20200503_174832453.jpg
    106.8 KB · Views: 4
  • IMG_20200503_175248780.jpg
    IMG_20200503_175248780.jpg
    65.8 KB · Views: 4

tm2204

Active Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
126
Reaction score
49
Points
28
Location
Ireland
I did Tom via the flywheel. It's the top hole in the housing. However, after changing the tensioner I went to take the fly wheel tool out of the housing and it had fell on the floor during the process 😆 There is only one cam sensor on the 156. It's the VVT solenoid at the back of the engine right next to the tensioner.
I wont lie it's a devil of a job to change age the VVT. BTW dont try to adjust the tensioner it will mash the washer just pop a new tensioner in it comes with new washer. If you are going to do either message me and I'll help you along.
Hi Dave,

Remember you telling me about this. Didn't realise the VVT was the cam sensor 👍 What errors were you getting again re your VVT requiring you to change it? I'll get in touch when i'm gonna do either/both of these 👍
 

Jumper

Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
81
Reaction score
42
Points
18
Hi Dave,

Remember you telling me about this. Didn't realise the VVT was the cam sensor 👍 What errors were you getting again re your VVT requiring you to change it? I'll get in touch when i'm gonna do either/both of these 👍
I had no errors on the OBD reader and no engine light on and no other symptoms. I only changed it because I was chasing an oil leak. With the timing chain tensioner being the most likely cause of the leak in that area I changed it for a new one. But as I had taken all the pipe work off the throttle body inlet I decided to change the VVT as well and as you can see it was leaking oil anyway. Its no suprise that after changing both the oil leak dissapeared. If you look at the diagram below H is the Camshaft Position Sensor

1611219333823.png
 
Top