What's new
Peugeot RCZ Forum

Register a free account today to become a member. It's free! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, connect with other members through your own private inbox and take part in competitions!

Battery charge or electrical supply fault again

chris_taylor

New Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2023
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Location
UK
I hope to draw on the collective expertise of RCZ fans here.

RCZ 1.6l 2010, owned from new. Not garaged, extremely reliable. No matter how long I left it parked somewhere, it started first time, every time, for 14 years running.

This time, I went away for 3 weeks, came back and the battery was flat. RAC jump started it fine, but battery test showed it was near the end of its life, so they exchanged it. Car started fine and I thought everything was ok. But when I restarted the engine to drive home, the "Battery Charge or Electrical Supply Fault" came up, plus the big red STOP warning.

The car drove fine, so I drove it the 80 miles home, with the warning signs showing. No issues, except that the driver side window wouldn't wind up as normal.

The warning sign is now permanent. The only difference I notice - and that might be just me being super alert - occasionally, when I approach a junction, the engine revs go down so much that it feels as if the engine is going to die. A few taps on the gas pedal, and it's all fine again.

Nothing on the OBD reader, the garage put on various other testers on different bits underneath the bonnet. One did show a a list of faults, but they couldn't pin point what the underlying problem might be and sent me away while they did some research. No response since and nobody knows how to print out whatever codes that one piece of kit showed.

I know nothing about cars and having had a string of bad experiences with garages over the years, this time, I want to go back and tell them what *I* want them to do, not the other way around.

Reading other threads here on the same error code, I wonder whether the most likely problem is a faulty Battery Management Module?

any pointers gratefully received!

chris
 

apple3337

Active Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
221
Reaction score
115
Points
43
Location
Melbourne, Australia
I had the same issue when I bought my used RCZ-R. I changed this part which fixed the issue. Its super easy to do yourself with a 13 mm socket. I got mine on Aliexpress. Just check your part number with the online version. It's probably the same part on all RCZ's I'm guessing. It's the circuit board on top of the battery. Part of the battery protection module. I'm not the only one on here who has done this fix.
 

Attachments

  • rcz circuit.jpg
    rcz circuit.jpg
    31.8 KB · Views: 4

Pedro

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
2,639
Reaction score
829
Points
113
Location
Cheshire
Voltage drop test may be the answer ?
 

neilgsxr69

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2014
Messages
3,227
Reaction score
734
Points
113
Sounds to me like whoever changed the battery hasn’t let the electrical systems shut down properly before disconnecting the window issue points to this firstly I would try disconnecting the battery and leaving it for 20 minutes or so then reconnecting and don’t power anything up for 10 minutes or so after reconnecting.
If you’ve a 2010 car you may not have the battery control module on your car if you have the red fuse cover on top of your battery box you don’t have one.
 

chris_taylor

New Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2023
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Location
UK
I'll take your suggestions to the garage next week - it's been twice now and they don't know what's going on, either. Car runs fine, though. Will report back. thanks for your help!
 

chris_taylor

New Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2023
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Location
UK
it turns out that the person who changed the battery forgot to connect a cable to the battery module. it was found tucked at the back when the garage took out the new battery to trace the problem. reconnecting it and doing a reset on the electronics fixed it.
 
Top